

BC Lacrosse Officials Association Minutes of the 2010 Special Session Saturday, September 11th, 2010 at Douglas College, New Westminster

In Attendance: BCLOA: Lee Brien, Alan Sleightholme, Gil Lowe, Heather Foulds, Terry Foulds, Randy Sernagiotto, Sean Lehman, Nick Thomas, Keith Gagne, Wilson Louie, Barry Kelly, Tim Brown, Jody Weatherby, Ed Moffat, Ryan Nose, Dan Mason, Ryan Mulligan, Braden Wilkins, Katrina McCurrach, Keith Williams, Andrea Jones, Derek Harris, Andrew Corbould, Dave Vandeleur Connor Lies, Tyson Lies, Lorne Cardiff, Doug Wright, Chris Comeault, Riley Williamson, Bill Mosdell, Craig Baldridge, Kyle Shanks, Joe Wong, Kody Moleschi, Terry Mosdell, Randy Sernagiotto and Doug Fisher.

BCLCA: Dennis Quigley, Mike Marshall, Brent Boutilier, Lorne Winship, Derek Milani, Kelly Scott, Rob Martel, Tammy McDougall, Baron Frech, Scott Jensen, Naomi Walser, Terry Kirsiuk,

BCLOA/BCLCA - Joint Session

- **1.** <u>Joint Session Introductions</u>. Called to order at 9:40 am. Dennis Quigley of the BCLCA chaired this session. Dennis recognized: Tyson Lies for his Induction to the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame; Bryan Baxter for his work with the Aboriginal Lacrosse Program, Sean Lehman for his partnership with the Coaches Association
- **2.** <u>Door Personnel Test.</u> Did the officials see a difference in the conduct of door personnel? Conduct seems to

improve because the test held the door personnel more accountable. Communication could improve to club head referees when reports are filed regarding transgressions by bench personnel. Discussion on referees reducing their management of poor behavior by bench personal from a three strike to a two strike approach.

- **3.** <u>Online Referee Game Reports:</u> Results of referees game report requested to be communicated between club head referees and commissioners.
- **4. Referee Complaints**. If necessary, asked to be forwarded to BCLOA by club president on club letter head.
- **5.** <u>Offence/Defence</u>. BCLCA asks that game officials notes any use of O/D by teams on the score sheet or via a game report.
- **6. Joint Session Adjournment**. Adjournment at 10:50 am. Groups now split into own sessions.

BCLOA Special Session

- **1.** <u>Introductions</u>. Called to order 11:05 am. Doug Wright presided over this session. Doug introduces the executive members in attendance and welcomes everyone!
- **2.** <u>Agenda</u>. Minutes from the 2009 Special Session, no errors. Moved by Terry Foulds, seconded by Gil Lowe. **Motion carried**.
- 3. Reports
- a) Chair Report attached

b) Vice Chair, Minor -. Report attached

c) Vice Chair, Senior - Report attached with additional notes:

Too many Level Threes,

Suggesting a criteria to invite referees to Level Three Clinic,

Better course material from the CLA for Level Fours and Fives

d) Vice Chair, Men's Field – Report attached

e) Vice Chair Women's Field – Report attached with additional note:

Level One and Two Umpires Clinic: October 1st & 2nd at Douglas College

f) BCLA Technical Director - Report attached.

g) Minor Zone Coordinators:

- i.) Zone 3 Report attached.
- ii.) Zone 5 Report attached
- iii.) Zone 8 Report attached
- iv.) Lower Mainland Coordinator Report attached

h) Minor Provincial Referee In Chief's:

- i) BC Summer Games Report attached
- j) Midget Report attached.
- k) Senior Operations:
 - i.) Vancouver Island Coordinator Report attached.
 - ii.) Lower Mainland Allocator Report attached.
 - iii.) Senior Post Season Selection Committee Report attached.

Motion to accept all reports as submitted. Moved by Craig Baldridge, seconded by Kyle Shanks. **Motion carried.**

5. Operating Policy. No changes proposed

6. Elections of Officers

a) Vice Chair Minor (two year term) -

Nominations: Sean Lehman

Sean Lehman lets his name stand

Secretary casts 1 ballot

Elected: Sean Lehman

b) Vice Chair Senior (two year term) -

Nominations: Joe Wong, Lorne Cardiff and Randy Sernagiotto

Joe Wong let his name stand

Secretary casts 1 ballot

Elected: Joe Wong

c) Vice Chair Men's Field (two year term) -

Nominations: Gil Lowe and Lee Brien.

Gil Lowe lets his name stand.

Secretary casts 1 ballot

Elected: Gil Lowe

Motion to destroy ballots. Moved by Craig Baldridge, seconded by Andrew Corbould. **Motion** carried.

- **7.** <u>New Business</u>. Holding BCLCA/BCLOA Special Session in Whistler in conjunction with BCLA AGM. BCLOA sees no advantage to moving the Special Session.
- **8.** <u>Adjournment</u>. Motion to adjourn at 12:00 noon. Moved by Gil Lowe, seconded by Sean Lehman. **Motioned carried**